2 weeks

Yesterday I had a swelling desire to start writing again. I was overcome with the idea of writing consistently about whatever pops into my mind that day. I even had the romantic idea of someday writing a book. As I mentioned, these were yesterday’s desires.

Today is not yesterday.

I have very little desire to write today. I like the idea of it, but I don’t always like the process of it. So why am I sitting here writing if I didn’t want to today? I am writing because I believe clarity of thought can come through tapping out a few words each day. I am writing because I want to have a desire to write daily. I want to look forward to working out my thoughts on a blank page. I don’t feel these things right now, but I am hoping that I will find a surprising enjoyment out of my attempted newfound discipline.

My plan is to write something on here every day for the next 2 weeks. Yes, I know, 2 weeks is not a long time, but I want it to serve as a test period for this project. It doesn’t matter to me how much I write. What matters to me is that what I write needs to be authentic to who I am, and to how I feel. I want to express honesty in every word.

2 weeks.

If I make it everyday for 2 weeks, I believe I will gain a thirst for continuing my writing. This is my desire. Let’s hope for the best.

Leave a Reply

