Summer

So what’s a guy to say when he hasn’t written in nearly 2 months?

I’m sorry.  I’ve been distant.  I needed my space.  Forgive me?

Moving on.

Why, hello!  A lot has happened since that last time I wrote, definitely too much to catch you up on fully, but here’s the 140 character or less summary: “1st year of sem=done, selling shoes, worship leader for wed. night worship, too much free time, too little friends, still really in love.”

Word limits are good for me.  I tend to be wordy.

Summer is here, and yesterday’s sunshine helped prove that correctly.  This is quite a unique summer for me.  For the first time in a while, I am not in class.  Homework isn’t my constant shadow for a few months.  Needless to say, I’m a bit excited about this summer.  It turns out I’m going to have a lot more free time than I initially planned, but I am striving to use this summer wisely.  This is very possibly the last summer I will have with so little responsibility.  I intend to use it to the fullest.

How you ask? For starters, I made a book list. I don’t think I’ve ever written an actually summer reading list before, but I am ready to read.  For fun.  Not for school.  I also want to play a lot of music this summer and stretch myself in new ways.  Does that mean more finger picking and more ukulele?  You betchya.

I am also striving to use this summer as a time to fall into some good routines.  With all this newfound time on my hands, I immediately run the risk of being lazy.  I don’t want to be lazy this summer.  I want to accomplish a lot while enjoying the downtime I have.  I want to write, exercise (crazy, I know), be spontaneous, be outdoorsy, and enjoy a cup of coffee on my balcony just for the hay of it.  I want to live.  Do you know what I mean?  I don’t want to sleep through this summer.  I want to look back and see a clear cut journey of where I’ve been, and where I’ve come, through a summer of life, joy, passion, and growth.  I invite you to take this journey with me.  There’s no time like now, right?

It’s good to be back.  I hope to write much more often on here this summer.  Stay tuned, and thanks for reading!

-kfs

8 thoughts on “Summer

  1. I have a lot more free time than expected this summer too, Kev and ya know what? I’m not going to let it waste away either. Thanks for your inspiration!
    Oh and I def have a summer reading list. I’m currently in the middle of “Water for Elephants.” You should read it.
    Hope to see you soon!!!

    • That’s great to hear Kristina! I bet it’s hard after living your dreams in Spain! I’m excited to hear you have a summer reading list too, that’s great. I’ve heard good things about that book! Thanks for the recommendation! Can’t wait to see ya sometime soon and catch up!

  2. I’ll take you up on that invitation! I like what you said about making the most of this summer. I goes by so fast that if we don’t make a concerted effort, we won’t have anything to show for it. I’ve started exercising. Can’t say I like it, but I’m trying hard to make it a new habit. I have a feeling this will be one great summer for you! Stay on task, or….is it off task?

    • Haha on or off task, it’s a change from my normal summers! I’m excited for you and your summer as well. The first bit of exercising is the hardest. I want to start doing that as well. I hope as it becomes more habitual for you it also becomes more enjoyable. Miss you momma!

  3. So good to read your writing again Kevin! =) Soak up the free time and fill it with the things you love and don’t get to enjoy all the time. Your post was inspiring and although I’m away from my love and extremely busy, I’m going to make more of an effort to be in the moment and enjoy this time.

    • Hey Amanda! Why thank you! Yes, it is challenging having more free time on my hands, but it truly is rewarding. I like your thinking! Although this stage in life you’re in isn’t the easiest, there is joy to be had in knowing it’s only temporary. Good luck finding your enjoyment despite the busyness of your schedule!

Leave a Reply

